Growing Pains

I get a lot of comments about having so many boys at such a young age.  I actually think of it as a compliment.  One person asked how old I was when I had my first kid, because I looked like I was twenty.  No offense taken:)

DSC_0473

I am right with them.  It blows my mind as well that I am a parent.  That Timmy and I are in charge of making sure that my little angels are alive, well, and  thriving.

DSC_0436

This truth always rings true when my boys are sick.  I am the one in charge to make sure they are not dehydrated, breathing correctly, getting the right dose of medication, warm enough etc.  The list goes on and on.

DSC_0194 DSC_0195

As a general rule I try hard not to think about all my responsibilities as a parent or I start to become overwhelmed…

DSC_0565

That is how I approach life.  Chances are if there is an opportunity for growth, I do not want to do it.  In fact my motto for life right now is “If I do not want to do it, I probably should:)”

DSC_0889

This reluctance for growth began at a very young age.

My mom signed me up for a lot of activities like softball, swimming, dance, tennis and choir, and I did not want to do any of them.

When we moved from beautiful Spring City to El Paso, and I saw the biggest High school I had ever seen in my life as a small 14 year old, I was so scared to go.

All the singing competitions scared the living day lights out of me.

Applying for college far away from my family, and seeing my family drive off will always be a memory etched in my mind of terror!

Being a music major I was provided with a lot of opportunities for growth, that I wish were not available, like juries!

Getting married was also a big commitment that I was scared to death of!

Teaching troubled teenagers Rock and Roll History was not on the top of my to do list:)

Becoming a mom was exciting/terrifying!

DSC_0293DSC_0251

When I am blessed with having another kid/blessing, I get more nervous, because now I know how much work they are!

DSC_0111

Supporting Timmy as we are going through A LOT of school without a definite end in sight, is to say the least a little unsettling.

DSC_0128

But I do it anyway.   Why?  Because I know I am a better person because of it.  And to be quite honest, I have had the best life and would not change a thing!

DSC_0289

My life is better than I ever could have imagined and it is because I took a leap of faith and let the Lord take care of the rest!

DSC_0454

Leave a Reply

