Trying to find joy in the monotonous!

Oh the dishes!  I feel like the dishes and I have not come to an agreement.  I feel like I clean this blasted room all day long, and it is still dirty!

DSC_0395

For the most part I do not mind housework.  I would not say it is my favorite thing in the world, but it is tolerable. I even look forward to laundry, cooking, cleaning the bathrooms, anything but the KITCHEN!

DSC_0398

I told Timmy that when we build a house I want the kitchen in the farthest part of the house, where I do not have to look at the dishes, so that I can clean them when I feel like.  The out of sight out of mind method really works well for me.

DSC_0397

I suggested maybe using disposable plates, but my boys all gave me a blank stare.

DSC_0180

I realize there are worse things in life.

DSC_0303

I am grateful that I have such an awesome kitchen, food to eat, a dishwasher( High five to you guys who do the dishes by hand!) etc.

DSC_0697But I have a feeling that the kitchen and I will always be at odds with each other…and that is okay, right?

If I could have  a super power it would be to have Mary Poppins skill of snapping my finger and everything is cleaned instantly!

DSC_0707

I think that is the hard part about housework is that it could take up your whole day if you let it and all you want is the house to be clean.

But then you feel guilty because I should be playing with my boys, reading with my boys, going on outings with my boys, etc.  It is this conflicting role of WHAT SHOULD I DO?

I could play Thomas the Train, but I need to fold A LOT OF LAUNDRY!, I should read you a book, but the upstairs looks like a tornado hit it.  I know you need to eat lunch but I just cleaned kitchen, can we just stare at the kitchen for five minutes and admire it before I destroy it again?

DSC_0109

I tell Timmy that at one point during the day, the house was clean…he just wasn’t there to witness it!
I have a goal that by the time the boys get home at 3:30 pm the house will be clean.  And by 3:36 pm, my beautifully clean house is GONE!  It does get discouraging, and oftentimes I think what is the point?  Why do I keep on doing what I am doing?

DSC_0271 DSC_0289 DSC_0040 DSC_0069 DSC_0183 DSC_0181

Because doing this day in and day out makes me a better person right?  At least I hope so, and more importantly I love my boys!

DSC_0068

I am living the dream you know, I have always wanted to be a Princess andI think I fill in the Snow White Role very nicely with my 5 little Dwarves.

DSC_0293So have I found joy in the monotonous?  I am trying really hard!  But do I have joy everyday?  You better believe it!

DSC_0293 DSC_0473 DSC_0128 DSC_0251

Leave a Reply

