How to roll out perfect Sugar Cookies – FINALLY!

I LOVE Sugar cookies, they make me happy. I have tried a lot of recipes that claim to be the best sugar cookies, and I tried to make them, and failed. This is what would happen.

DSC_0046 DSC_0047 DSC_0048 DSC_0049 DSC_0050

I would roll it out onto parchment paper, put it in the fridge, take it out, and then the dough would slowly turn into blobs.

It would drive me nuts, I felt like everyone knew how to make sugar cookies but me!

Then my life changed when this kind lady from my church came over to my house to share with me her technique on how to roll the dough.

Two weeks previously I had attended her cookie class, and she taught us how to put icing on the cookies. She had already baked the cookies and they were perfect. I kept asking her over and over again, how did you make the cookies so perfectly?

I must have been too persistent, perhaps annoying…because she gave me a special tutorial on how to roll out cookie dough, and I hope it helps you!

The key is to refrigerate the cookie dough until it is firm. My friend had arrived with slightly thawed cookie dough, and it worked well.

The key is to roll out the cookie dough in small amounts, and to make sure that it is covered in flour. Here is a picture because my description is lacking in clarity:)

 

What you do is you put flour on the counter, put a small circle of cookie dough on the counter, and then roll the dough, flip the dough over, add flour to the dough then roll out the dough, and repeat the steps until the dough is about an 1/8 inch thick, which looks like this:DSC_0328

Find the cookie cutters of your choice, and if your cookie dough is floured enough, the cutters should be able to cut through the dough and when transferring the dough onto the Parchment paper the shape should stay the same. If not, just try again:)

DSC_0327DSC_0326

Instead of icing, we added sugar sprinkles. The sprinkles were perfect because it adds so much color and festiveness without all the work of making the icing. Of course you could do icing and sprinkles. Now that would be perfection!

DSC_0331

DSC_0332

DSC_0334

DSC_0335

Bennett went a little crazy on the sprinkles…He also found a new love of his life, which he lovingly calls the Cookie Lady. And I refer to her as an angel from heaven:)

DSC_0422

You know when the cookies are cooked all the way, when you can see a little bit of browning. These cookies are more crisp than soft. However make sure they are not too crisp, if you know what I mean!

DSC_0375

I used up a treat day on this day, because they were that GOOD!

Here is the Sugar Cookie Recipe. My friend said that every year she gets a cookie book, and has been collecting them for years. The recipe she uses for her Sugar Cookies was found in the first cookie book she ever got. I asked her what made her choose this recipe, she said that she was drawn to it and it is the only sugar cookie recipe that she uses.

Sour-Cream Sugar Cookies:

1 Cup Butter

3 Cups all-purpose flour

1 Cup Sugar

2 egg yolks

1/4 cup dairy sour cream

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp. baking solda

1/4 tsp salt

Beat butter in a large mixing bowl 30 second or until softened. Add half of the flour, sugar, egg yolks, sour cream, vanilla, baking soda and 1/4 tsp. salt. Beat until well combined, scraping bowl. Beat or stir in remaining flour. Divide dough in half. If necessary, cover and chill till easy to handle.

Roll dough a little bit at a time onto a lightly floured surface to 1/8” thickness. Cut with desired cookie cutters. Place on parchment paper.

Bake at 350 degree oven cook 5-7 minutes or till edges are firm and bottoms are lightly browned. (In my oven it took 11 minutes) Transfer to wire racks. Cool

Frost with powdered sugar icing, sprinkles, or whatever you want:)

Makes 72

Tales of the Shop:

During the Christmas season, my mom would make A LOT of treats to hand out to people in our neighborhood. I have so many fond memories of helping her make the treats, and then dropping them off to friends. My favorite part was all the treats that we received from our friends! Isn’t this time of year Wonderful?

DSC_0316 DSC_0454 DSC_0455 DSC_0458

Leave a Reply

