What do you do with Thrift Store Jewelry?

I LOVE thrift stores. Being the wife of a student for eight going on nine years, and not seeing it end any time soon. I have learned to love Thrift stores, the price is just right:)

There was a time when I thought that Thrift stores were not my thing. Then I went to church and saw one of my buddies wearing the cutest skirt. I had to know where she got it. She said she got it at a Thrift store, and since then, I have not been able to stop going. One of my favorite combinations of all time is a thrift store with half off days:)

I love the color turquoise. I found these strands of necklaces at the Thrift store for $2.00 and could not resist. I didn’t really like the look of the single strand necklace that reached super low and had the tendency to get caught in everything, kids included…

So with the genius of my neighbor she found a way to make it shorter and cuter!

DSC_0962

DSC_0974DSC_0976 DSC_0977The necklace was long enough that she was able to fold it in half. Then she used Sterling Silver wire to make the clasp. You could also use a clasp on another piece of jewelry that you may not be using as well. To combine the necklace she used jump rings to attach both of the strands together.

The tools used are:

Wire cutters

Pliers



DSC_0975

Now this is the right length of necklace and I am excited to wear it. I am going to look at jewelry at the thrift store in a different way. I am going to look at the jewelry and see what it could be:)

Tales of the Shop:

It started snowing again. I realize that I live in Canada and that snow would be coming. But I had this false hope that maybe it would forget to come…

These pictures are from last years winter. I am literally shaking in my boots to see what this winter will bring. I hear it will be CRAZY!!!!!!!!!!! I am still recovering from last year!

Here’s to warm coats, mittens, millions of blankets and being grateful for shelter of any kind!

My boys LOVE winter. It is a kids dream, you can jump off high mountains, build anything, and come inside for Hot Chocolate:)

DSC_0003 DSC_0006 DSC_0008 DSC_0009 DSC_0010 DSC_0017 DSC_0018 DSC_0020 DSC_0021 DSC_0022 DSC_0027 DSC_0034

Leave a Reply

